The Department of Population Medicine (DPM) resides within the Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Institute, and is an appointing department of Harvard Medical School. DPM's core mission is to improve health care delivery and population health through innovative research and teaching.


January 8, 2018

A quarter-century journey to improve health - celebrating the silver anniversary of the Department of Population Medicine

One way to predict where we’re going is to reflect on where we’ve been. Thanks to those who traveled from near and far to help us do just that at our Department of Population Medicine 25th Anniversary event on November 7 and 8, 2017.  Continue reading for a recap of the event and links to photos and presentations. 

October 6, 2017

Call for Submissions: Suzanne and Robert Fletcher Prize in Population Medicine

The Department of Population Medicine announces a call for submissions for a $1000 prize for the best paper on a topic in Population Medicine written by an HMS or HSDM student.   Papers will be judged by an expert panel of DPM faculty, who will be blinded to the authors.  Entries are due by December 15, 2017. Download the call for submissions HERE.

October 6, 2017

DPM Receives Mentoring Award

Harvard Medical School has awarded the Department a "Culture of Excellence in Mentoring" award for its program of faculty mentoring and performance review. Harvard Medical School has established this new mentoring award to recognize the efforts of a department, division, office or program to foster innovation and sustainability in mentoring while building a culture of mentoring.