2020 Gordon Moore Award for Excellence in Mentoring Recipients Named

2020 Gordon Moore Award for Excellence in Mentoring Recipients Named

June 23, 2020

The Institute upholds a strong tradition of mentorship to support professional and personal development of faculty and staff at all stages of career development. To celebrate the outstanding Institute members who inspire, support, and catalyze the personal and professional development of colleagues, the Gordon Moore Award for Excellence in Mentoring was established in 2019.

Named for and inspired by our very own
Gordon Moore, MD, MPH, the award was created to recognize exceptional mentors from all areas, including staff, research scientists, analysts, fellows, faculty, and individuals in administrative and management roles. Mentors can be recognized for one or more of the following traits:

Goal setting | Developing talent | Coaching and sponsorship | Role modeling | Support | Feedback and caring | Commitment | Encouraging high expectations | Fostering values of life-long mentoring | Supporting work-life balance

A nomination for excellence in mentoring appreciates an individual who has had a transformative role in the professional or personal development of one or more mentees. This year, 17 nominators put forward eight mentors for consideration. Though it was a difficult decision, the committee* is excited to honor two outstanding mentors. Congratulations goes to:

Alison Galbraith
Alison Galbraith, MD, MPH

Alison Galbraith, MD, MPH
Dr. Galbraith is an Associate Professor in the Department of Population Medicine (DPM) at Harvard Medical School and the Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Institute. She is the Associate Director of the Center for Health Care Research in Pediatrics (CHeRP) and the site director of the Harvard-wide Pediatric Health Services Research Fellowship Program. A pediatrician and health services researcher, her research focuses on the effects of insurance policy on health and health care for vulnerable populations of children and families. Her recent work studies decision making, health care use, and costs for children and families in high-deductible health plans and Health Insurance Exchange plans.




Chelsea Jenter
Chelsea Jenter, MPH

Chelsea Jenter, MPH
Ms. Chelsea Jenter works closely with Drs. Emily Oken and Jason Block to manage the Division of Chronic Disease Research Across the Lifecourse (CoRAL) within the Department of Population Medicine. She manages a large team and many research projects, including large-scale interventions and nation-wide consortia. Ms. Jenter received her AB from Smith College and her MPH in Health Policy and Management from Boston University. She has worked in the Department of Population Medicine twice: first in the early 2000s, and then again starting in 2011.




Many thanks to both for their dedication and commitment to the Institute and their mentees!

Congratulations to all of our outstanding 2020 Gordon Moore Award nominees:
Maryam Asgari, MD, MPH, Christine Lu, MSc, PhD, Judy Maro, PhD, Darren Toh, PhD, Frank Wharam, MB, BCh, BAO, MPH, and Ann Wu, MD, MPH


*The review committee consists of Jamie Kotch, Julia Marcus, Gordon Moore, Vickie Pagliuca, and Anita Wagner.


Related Content:
Mentoring at the Institute | Gordon Moore Awarded the Harvard Medical School William Silen Lifetime Achievement in Mentoring Award | Announcing the 2019 Gordon Moore Award for Excellence in Mentoring