Suzanne and Robert Fletcher Prize in Population Medicine

2021 Fletcher Prize in Population Medicine

$1000 prize for the best paper in Population Medicine

We are pleased to announce that Maya Behn, Erika Lynn-Green, and Inam Sakinah, medical students at Harvard Medical School, have been selected to receive the 2021 Fletcher Prize in Population Medicine. The Fletcher Prize is awarded by the Department for the best paper on a topic in Population Medicine written by a Harvard Medical School or Harvard School of Dental Medicine student. Papers were judged by an expert panel of DPM faculty. Their winning submission, “Early COVID-19 Vaccination for Incarcerated Populations: Prioritizing Population Health”, makes the case for prioritizing highly-impacted populations inside carceral facilities and their home communities from the perspectives of social justice, equity, prevention, and vulnerability. Learn more HERE.

The announcement for the 2022 Fletcher Prize will be released in December, 2021. Contact with questions.


Suzanne and Robert Fletcher met while they were students at Harvard Medical School, class of 1966.  Individually and jointly they have been national leaders in advancing the field of clinical epidemiology.  Their textbook, Clinical Epidemiology: The Essentials, now in its 5th edition and co-written with their son, has been translated into several languages. Among other contributions, they served as Co-Editors in Chief of the Annals of Internal Medicine and founding Co-Editors of the Journal of General Internal Medicine and were founders of the World Association of Medical Editors.  In 1994, they returned to HMS and joined the Department.  Suzanne directed the Patient-Doctor II physical diagnosis course for second-year students and introduced the Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) assessment to Harvard Medical School. Bob was founding director of the longitudinal Primary Care Clerkship.  Both continue as Professors emeriti in the DPM.